Home Catalogue Vinyl Shop News About Licensing Contact
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Over 35 years of outstanding film & television music + much more!
SILCD1387 SOS Titanic

SOS Titanic
SOS Titanic
Howard Blake

S.O.S. TITANIC is arguably the most intelligent and authentic version of the Titanic tragedy. An Anglo-American co-production premiered by ABC on September 23rd 1979 it ran for three hours and was the costliest television film ever made.

A huge star cast included David Janssen, Helen Mirren, Ian Holm, David Warner, Harry Andrews and Cloris Leachman. The brilliantly-researched script by James Costigan was based on a first-hand account by passenger-survivor Lawrence Beesley.

US-based producer Roger Gimbel wanted to use an English composer and had been much impressed by Howard Blake’s score for Ridley Scott’s THE DUELLISTS. Apart from the composition of a serious symphonic score there was also the intention to create a tapestry of historically-correct music such as that which would have been heard on the ship. An innovation in the story-telling portrayed the differences between 1st, 2nd and 3rd class passengers and this was also to be reflected in the music – with, for instance, Irish music from the 3rd, songs with piano from the 2nd and a sophisticated orchestra in the 1st.

Howard Blake

Howard Blake is one of the most popular and prolific living English composers. Successes include scores which he wrote for films such as ‘The Duellists’ and ‘A Month in the Country’, both of which won prizes. 
In 1982 he wrote words and music for the animated Channel 4 TV film and Sony CD ‘The Snowman’, with its song ‘Walking in the Air’, so much loved by children all over the world. Its concert version continues to receive many performances worldwide, and the stage version runs every year at Sadlers Wells’ Peacock Theatre in London. 
In 1994 Howard Blake received the O.B.E. for services to music and is Fellow and Visiting Professor of Composition at The Royal Academy of Music.


1. S.O.S. Titanic Main Theme
2. Hearts Of Oak/Men Of Harlech
3. Waltz From Eugene Onegin
4. Rule Britania
5. Queenstown Harbour (Jig)
6. She Moved Through The Fair
7. Roses From The South
8. Madame Bonaparte (Jig)
9. Mr Moon-Man Turn Off The Light
10. Elite Syncopations (Rag)
11. I’m Bidding You A Long Farewell
12. Connemara Waltz
13. Every Little Moment
14. I’m Falling In Love With Someone
15. Isn’t It Grand, Boys?
16. Titanic Waltz
17. The Hit
18. S.O.S. To The Carpathia
19. S.O.S. Come Quickly!
20. Abandon Ship
21. Bethena (Rag)
22. Beesley’s Jump
23. Day Of Judgement
24. God Of Mercy (Autumn)
25. The Sinking Of The Titanic
26. Survivors
27. Desolation
28. “There Is No God” (Boarding The Carpathia)
29. S.O.S. Titanic End Titles
30. Bethena (Bonus Track)


+44 (0)20 7428 5500

Silva Screen Records Ltd
3 Prowse Place
London NW1 9PH