Home Catalogue Vinyl Shop News About Licensing Contact
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Over 35 years of outstanding film & television music + much more!
SILCD1434 Luther – Songs & Score From Series 1,2 & 3

Luther - Songs And Score From Series 1, 2 & 3
Luther – Series 1, 2 & 3
Songs And Score

Paul Englishby, Various Artists

Launched in 2010, Luther has fast become one of the BBC’s most popular crime series with Idris Elba in the title role as a dedicated but obsessive police officer. With its mysterious theme, Paradise Circus by Massive Attack opening each episode the series also utilises a play-out track that fits the atmosphere of the story. This release features many of these outstanding songs including music from Robert Plant, Suede, Marilyn Manson, and Nina Simone.

Composer Paul Englishby provides the score for the series with music that can range from darkly menacing soundscapes to elegiac dreaminess. His career spans film, TV, theatre, dance and concert hall. He received an Emmy Award for his adroit jazz score to David Hare’s TV production Page Eight (also Ivor Novello Award nominated). He also score the acclaimed John Hurt, Quentin Crisp drama An Englishman In New York. Film highlights include An Education, Miss Pettigrew Lives For A Day and Magicians.

As a special bonus, the little-known Kasabian track Black Whistler (previously only available on the single for Empire) makes its album debut here. Always considered to have the ‘Luther’ vibe, it was never used in the show but is included here at Idris Elba’s request.


1. Paradise Circus – Massive Attack
2. The First Case – Paul Englishby
3. Big Bad Wolf – The Heavy
4. Carnage – Paul Englishby
5. Me And The Devil – Gil Scott Heron
6. Luther Does Things His Way – Paul Englishby
7. Satan Your Kingdom Must Come Down – Robert Plant
8. John Luther – Paul Englishby
9. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood – Nina Simone
10. Unlucky Young Couple – Paul Englishby
11. Gun – Emiliana Torrini
12. Attack In The Attic – Paul Englishby
13. She – Suede
14. The Children – Paul Englishby
15. Flash – Joan As Police Woman
16. Double Crossed – Paul Englishby
17. Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) – Marilyn Manson
18. He’s Behind You – Paul Englishby
19. I Got A Thing – Hanni El Khatib
20. Alice – Paul Englishby
21. Palaces Of Montezuma – Grinderman

Bonus Track

22. Black Whistler – Kasabian


+44 (0)20 7428 5500

Silva Screen Records Ltd
3 Prowse Place
London NW1 9PH