Home Shop Catalogue News About Licensing Contact Subscribe Search
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Over 35 years of outstanding film & television music + much more!
SILCD1540 The Changes

The Changes
The Changes
Paddy Kingsland,
BBC Radiophonic Workshop

The Changes
The Changes
12″ double LP on black vinyl

Label Store

The first ever original soundtrack release of cult 1970’s BBC TV series ‘The Changes’

The critically acclaimed BBC TV series, The Changes, was first broadcast by the BBC in in 1975, accompanied by music from electronic pioneer Paddy Kingsland, who wrote and recorded the score while working at the BBC Radiophonic Workshop.

The 10 part series, adapted from Peter Dickinson’s book trilogy, was perfectly suited to Kingsland’s seminal electronic style, following a teenager living in a Britain where machinery and technology emit a terrible, all-enveloping noise, causing the population to destroy them.

Kingsland used an early synthesiser, the EMS Synthi 100 (which was apparently so large, they had to remove the doors of the studio to get it through), overlaid with live instruments including sitar, percussion, tabla, flute and horns to create a soundtrack which is indicative of exactly how the BBC Radiophonic Workshop’s early output influenced and informed the popular electronic music of the Eighties and beyond.

Kingsland went on to write the music for (amongst others) The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Radio and TV series), Doctor Who and Around the World in 80 Days, as well as composing for the KPM music library, who issued eight albums of his work. An LP of his Radiophonic Workshop output, “The Fourth Dimension”, was released by BBC Records in 1973.


1. The Changes Opening Titles
2. Home Alone (Nicky’s Theme)
3. Everybody’s Gone
4. A Note on the Door
5. A Special Kind of People
6. Your Ways Are Not Our Ways
7. The Changes Closing Titles (56″ version)
8. The Bad Wires
9. The Barns
10. Life on the Farm
11. The Devil’s Children
12. The Village Court


1. The Forge
2. Hostages!
3. Rescue
4. The Changes Closing Titles (67″ version)
5. The End of the Rescue
6. A Farewell
7. A Journey, and Arrival at Henley Farm


1. Sentence of Death
2. Leaving Shipton
3. Heartsease
4. At Purton Bridge
5. The Changes Closing Titles (63″ version)
6. After the Bridge
7. Michael and Mary
8. Necromancer’s Weather


1. The Quarry
2. Mr Furbelow
3. Qui Me Tangit, Turbat Mundum
4. The Changes Closing Titles (48″ version)
5. Into the Rock
6. The Cavern
7. Merlinus Sum
8. It’s All Over
9. Everything’s Alright Again (End Titles)
10. Nicky’s Theme (Stereo Demo) (Bonus Track)
11. Theme 2 Demo (Bonus Track)
12. The Noise (Bonus Track)


+44 (0)20 7428 5500

Silva Screen Records Ltd
3 Prowse Place
London NW1 9PH