Home Shop Catalogue News About Licensing Contact Subscribe Search
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Over 35 years of outstanding film & television music + much more!
SILCD1686 Alex Heffes ‘Sudden Light’

Alex Heffes Sudden Light
Sudden Light
Alex Heffes

Label Store


Apple Music


Sudden Light is a brand-new album of solo piano music written by Golden Globe and BAFTA nominated composer Alex Heffes. With this album, the composer performs his own music for the first time stripped back to solo piano in an intimate and personal journey of rediscovery.

Born in the UK, Alex’s life-long passion for playing the piano started at an early age and has been a constant throughout his career as a composer. In 2018 his piano playing came to an abrupt halt following an accident that left one hand severely broken. Surgery and rehabilitation left him unable to fully play for an extended period and gradually lead to his almost abandoning the instrument. His latest album, Sudden Light is a musical journey of rediscovery. In exploring some of his previous compositions and re-working them for solo piano, a new light is cast on the music and a new path created to the composer rediscovering how to perform again.

Alex Heffes is a Golden Globe and BAFTA nominated composer known for his scores to over 60 movies and TV series including The Last King of Scotland, Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, State of Play, Black Mirror, Roots and many others. Originally rising to critical acclaim with his scores to Kevin Macdonald’s Academy Award-winning One Day In September, BAFTA winning Touching The Void and others, he has collaborated with many of cinema’s top filmmakers such as Stephen Frears (The Program), Mira Nair (Queen of Katwe, A Suitable Boy), Catherine Hardwicke (Miss Bala) and JJ Abrams (11.22.63).


1. The Final Letter (From “Dear Frankie”)

2. I Have Been Here Before (From “Hope Gap”)

3. Shiny Shiny Waltz (From “Shiny Shiny Bright New Hole In My Heart”)

4. Sadie’s Theme (From Here to Eternity) (From “11.22.63”)

5. Phiona’s Theme (From “Queen of Katwe”)

6. Moving On (From “The Elephant Queen”)

7. One Day In September (From “One Day In September”)

8. Theme from Mandela (From “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom”)
9. Aya’s Theme (From “Emperor”)

10. Ronnie’s Theme (From “Ronnie’s”)

11. Boston and Marie (From “The 24th”)

12. Marie’s Rag (From “The 24th”)

13. Penguin Raiders Return (From “Earth: One Amazing Day”)
14. Rainforest Waltz (From “Earth: One Amazing Day”)

15. Touching the Void (From “Touching the Void”)

16. For John

17. I Have Been Here Before (digital only track)

‘Sudden Light’ Alex Heffes CD

Sheet Music

The sheet music for the following six pieces are available on Sheet Music Direct:


The Final Letter from DEAR FRANKIE

I Have Been Here Before from HOPE GAP

Phiona’s Theme from QUEEN OF KATWE


Rainforest Waltz from EARTH: ONE AMAZING DAY

The Final Letter (From “Dear Frankie”) – Video Clips

“Ocean Break” (Clip 1)

“Ocean Break” (Clip 2)

“Ocean Break” (Clip 3)


+44 (0)20 7428 5500

Silva Screen Records Ltd
3 Prowse Place
London NW1 9PH