Home Shop Catalogue News About Licensing Contact Subscribe Search
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Silva Screen Records
Over 35 years of outstanding film & television music + much more!
SILKD1694 – Imitation Games

Imitation Games
Imitation Games
Nick Squires, London Music Works

Stream/Download Now

World renowned contemporary cellist Nick Squires teams up with London Music Works.

Known for ‘Bach in the Rain’ viral video that reached more than 50 million viewers, and for his contemporary cello arrangements, Nick Squires, together with London Music Works, creates a complex, multilayered sonic world. With this album, Nick brings a fresh perspective to some of the most moving and powerful soundtrack and concert hall music. Featuring music from The Cinematic Orchestra, Gustavo Santaolalla, Max Richter Jóhann Jóhannsson, Bear McCreary, this album is bound to find its place on many major DSP playlists.

Opening with ‘To Build A Home’, Cinematic Orchestra’s wonderful depiction of grieving, the album moves on to Yan Tiersen’s nostalgic and hopeful ‘Comptine d’un autre été’, and sublimely meditative Gustavo Santaolalla ‘s ‘All Gone’. In-between the soundtrack themes, the album intertwines bitter-sweet post-classical works written for the concert podium – Max Richter’s ‘On the Nature of Daylight’, Einaudi’s ‘Experience’, Eric Whitacre’s ‘Sleep’, as well as music from contemporary ballet – Johann Johannson’s ‘Flight From The City’ and the long-standing pop ballad, Frankie Goes to Hollywood’s ‘Power of Love’. Nick delivers themes with passion, longing, and contemplation to envelop the listener in his sonic world of luscious textures and poignant atmospheres.

Well known as a classical cellist, Nick Squires has also extensively worked in the areas of soundtracks and pop. From No.1 chart topping hits to Hollywood movies and live performance, Nick has played to audiences of over 40,000 and recorded internationally. As a cello player and dance music producer, Nick has toured alongside Take That and Kelly Clarkson. As a versatile cellist and string arranger, Nick has worked with a diverse range of artists, from Birdy to Westlife, The Pet Shop Boys to The X Factor USA and many more. Nick has played in film and pop sessions as well as recording for the epic ‘Hans Zimmer Strings’ sample bank for Spitfire Audio. Nick’s Cello has featured on UK number one ‘The Promise’ – Girls Aloud and the global hit ’Sweet About Me’ – Gabriella Cilmi. He also composed meditation and mindfulness albums for and Lo-fi yoga beats for Apple Fitness.

Over the years classical music world has been supportive of Nick’s work and here are some quotes:

“Nick is one of those rare talents whose playing is inventive and captivating. His compositions always deliver flair and capture the imagination of listeners of all ages- truly, something for everyone!” – Tania Davis (Bond quartet)

“Nick Squires is one of the most instinctively gifted musicians I’ve ever worked with” – Bozidar Vukotic (The Tippet Quartet)

“Nick has a gift for communicating his love for music through his playing and writing. His positive energy is contagious!” – Ben Hancox (Sacconi String Quartet)

“Nick Squires is an extraordinarily gifted, charismatic and creative composer, arranger and ‘Cellist. With his boundless energy and infectious joy in what he does, it’s been a huge pleasure to work with him over the years on a great variety of projects” – Patrick Savage (Former principal First violin, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra)


01. To Build a Home [Instrumental Version] – The Cinematic Orchestra
02. Comptine d’un autre été (from “Amélie”) – Yann Tiersen
03. All Gone (No Escape) [from “The Last of Us Part 1”] – Gustavo Santaolalla
04. Blood Upon the Snow (from “God of War Ragnarök”) [Instrumental Version] – Bear McCreary
05. On the Nature of Daylight – Max Richter
06. The Imitation Game – Alexandre Desplat
07. Sleep [Instrumental Version] – Eric Whitacre
08. Redeeming Love Theme (from “Redeeming Love”) – Brian Tyler
09. Experience – Ludovico Einaudi
10. My Life Before Me (from “The Portrait of a Lady”) – Wojciech Kilar
11. Oogway Ascends (from “Kung Fu Panda”) – Hans Zimmer & John Powel
12. The Power of Love [Instrumental Version] – Gabrielle Aplin
13. The Wedding (from “Outlander”) – Bear McCreary
14. Flight From the City (from “Orphée”) – Jóhann Jóhannsson


+44 (0)20 7428 5500

Silva Screen Records Ltd
3 Prowse Place
London NW1 9PH